//
you're reading...
POLITICS, The Great Minnesota Governor's Race 2010

The Great Minnesota Governor’s Race 2010: Ramsey County Attorney Susan Gaertner Drops

Just today, Ramsey County Attorney Susan Gaertner announced she is ending her bid for governor. Gaertner’s decision was made on the heels of a rousing DFL convention which ended on a high note with an endorsement for Speaker of the House Margaret Anderson-Kelliher. At a press conference this afternoon, Gaertner conceded that facing a female opponent in the primary would “pit two women against each other in the primary, and with two self-financed and well-funded male candidates, the resulting struggle would make it extremely difficult to raise sufficient funds for an effective campaign.”

Gaertner has posted this statement at her website:

Dear Friends & Supporters:

After careful analysis of the DFL gubernatorial endorsement, I have decided to end my campaign for Governor of Minnesota. 

Two important facts weighed heavily in my decision:  1) That the endorsement of Speaker Margaret Anderson Kelliher would pit two women against each other in the primary, and 2) with two self-financed and well-funded male candidates, the resulting struggle would make it extremely difficult to raise sufficient funds for an effective campaign.

Since the day I entered this campaign I always believed there was a path to victory.  Today, that path is not clear.  What is clear is that if I stayed in the race I could hurt the chances of a woman surviving the primary.  Because this is the first time in more than a century of effort that a woman has come this far, I don’t want to be any part of keeping us from achieving this important milestone for Minnesota women.

While I am truly sorry the campaign didn’t work out, I have no regrets.  I ran because I believe at this difficult time in Minnesota’s history my leadership and values would have been good for all Minnesotans, including the least among us.

I will be forever grateful for your support and friendship.  In my years as a public servant in Minnesota, nothing I have done has touched me more than your loyalty to my campaign for Governor. 

When I started this campaign, I used a quote from Minnesota’s first Governor, Henry Hastings Sibley, to express my most basic value as a candidate.  As I end this campaign, I still believe it to be true:

“I have no object and no interest which are not inseparably bound up with the welfare of the state.”

Thank you. 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

