you're reading...

2009 Man Booker Prize – Fiction Shortlist (Updated: and the winner is…)

Man BookerThe winner of the 2009 Man Booker Prize for fiction will be announced on the 6th of October from the following shortlist of contenders:

A S Byatt The Children’s Book (Random House, Chatto and Windus)
J M Coetzee Summertime (Random House, Harvill Secker)
Adam Foulds The Quickening Maze (Random House, Jonathan Cape)
Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall (HarperCollins, Fourth Estate)
Simon Mawer The Glass Room (Little, Brown)
Sarah Waters The Little Stranger (Little, Brown, Virago)

…and the winner is Hilary Mantel (read more here).

This list includes previous winners (Coetzee – 1983 and 1990; Byatt – 1990), former judges (Mantel, Byatt) and those whose work has been either longlisted or shortlisted in the past. This year’s longlist, announced this past July, included Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín and William Trevor’s Love and Summer. Listen to extracts from the entire longlist courtesy of GoSpoken and the Man Booker Prize. The 2008 winner of the prize was White Tiger by Aravind Adiga.

Read the full press release



  1. Pingback: Hilary Mantel is the 2009 Winner of the Man Booker Prize for Wolf Hall « The Raabe Review - 6 October, 2009

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: