//
you're reading...
BOOKS

Stephenie Meyer Sets Twilight Saga Aside – For Now

Bestselling author Stephenie Meyer has given up work on her highly successful Twilight series after a draft of the current installment was stolen and posted on the internet. Books in the series include Twilight, New Moon, Eclipse and  Breaking Dawn. The series, widely popular among young teens, is a “riveting vampire love saga” according to the publisher, Little Brown & Co., a division of Hachette Book Group USA.

Meyer had carefully distributed the fifth and final book in the series, Midnight Sun, to only a few people.

“I have a good idea of how the leak happened as there were very few copies of Midnight Sun that left my possession and each was unique…”

she said, indicating that the recipients of the draft were not directly responsible for the leak. Meyer is no longer in the frame of mind necessary to continue working on the story and has posted the partial draft on her website. However, she reiterated that the leak was not only upsetting but an illegal violation of copyright law.

“I think it is important for everybody to understand that what happened was a huge violation of my rights as an author, not to mention me as a human being. As the author of the Twilight Saga, I control the copyright and it is up to the owner of the copyright to decide when the books should be made public; this is the same for musicians and filmmakers. Just because someone buys a book or movie or song, or gets a download off the Internet, doesn’t mean that they own the right to reproduce and distribute it. Unfortunately, with the Internet, it is easy for people to obtain and share items that do not legally belong to them. No matter how this is done, it is still dishonest. This has been a very upsetting experience for me, but I hope it will at least leave my fans with a better understanding of copyright and the importance of artistic control.”

Meyer has put the story on hold indefinitely, but the film version of the first book is due in theaters on the 21st of November. A new hardcover collector’s edition of Twilight is available for pre-order now.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Stephenie Meyer Sets Twilight Saga Aside – For Now

  1. Sorry that I took so long to get back to you on your Life and Times of Michael K question. The book originally came out in 1984 and there has been re-prints. The picture of the cover I got from GoodReads and it was different from the cover of the edition that I was reading. Judy-http://intergalacticbookworm.blogspot.com

    Posted by Judy Dague | 3 September, 2008, 2:16 am
  2. The Electronic Book Challenge is something that I came up with when I was downloading more books to my Mobipocket Reader. The blog address is: http://electronicbookchallenge.blogspot.com

    I hope that you can join me! Judy

    Posted by Judy Dague | 3 September, 2008, 3:04 pm
  3. That’s really sad that someone stole her draft. While I have never read this series, I find it additionally sad that many, many readers are deprived of the continuation of this series because someone (for lack of a better term since I don’t know how it was stolen) became greedy.

    Sigh. . .

    Posted by blacklin | 5 September, 2008, 2:24 pm
  4. It’s really sad that she had to go through that, and I hope she changes her mind and publishes the book later on. I have a copy that she had on her website, but I haven’t read it yet. I am sure not everyone saw the “stolen” version, and the fans should not have to be punished for the greediness of one person

    Posted by Gretchen Lee Bourquin | 6 September, 2008, 12:44 pm
  5. Ok- I completely understand that your rights were violated, but come on -you gave it out!!! So finish the book and make a few more $100 thousands.. I personally would set it aside as well for the moment and I would would pick up the story in a whole new light. You should cast off from when she jumps off the cliff and have everything else from the other books be just a dream- because she hit her head and have her make a life with Jacob and have Edward fight for her!!! Because he remembers everything but she has no recollection what so ever- make him fight more and have some sexy love seen with Jacob and Bella… What a twist that would be. A great big What If….It is so powerful I can completely envision the whole thing….For Mothers Day Yesterday – My 21 year old bought me the host. I have started reading it and of course I am a very fast reader so i will be through it no time, but even though it is good, you should go back to what is familiar. You have a crowd of fans out there begging for more and you are foolishly ignoring them… Wow now that’s selfish and foolish….There are so many ways you can change or follow up with this series. Don’t stop because of one foolish mistake on Your own part- move on… Darcy ( Mom of three )(14,19,21)

    Posted by Darcy | 11 May, 2009, 7:00 am

Leave a Reply

