//
you're reading...
BOOKS

Burned by Love? Chat with “The Gargoyle” author, Andrew Davidson

On August 5, 2008 RandomHouse/Doubelday will release the much-anticipated novel, The Gargoyle, by Canadian author, Andrew Davidson. The debut has received more praise (follow links to The New Yorker and more below) than criticism (which comes from Entertainment Weekly, a publication whose front page boasts stories about the movie “The Mummy,” Christina Applegate’s cancer and Nicole Kidman’s “steamy Australia.)

According to the Washington Post, The Gargoyle:

“is a story for people who like their literary entertainment well done…Following close behind David Wroblewski’s The Story of Edgar Sawtelle and Brunonia Barry’s The Lace Reader, The Gargoyle is another in this summer’s extraordinary series of million-dollar debuts from unknown writers that combine elements of mystery and mysticism.”

(Incidentally, having read and loved The Gargoyle myself, that makes me want to move Wroblewski and Barry to the top of my TBR pile.)

Part of the buzz surrounding the book can be attributed to its addictive companion website, Burned by Love, which now boasts a virally exploding following. When I first visited the site, there were fewer than 20 “burns” compared to today’s 155.

Also contributing to the buzz is a positive review by the Washington Post, who is also hosting a live Q&A chat with Andrew Davidson. The author will be online taking questions and comments on Tuesday, August 5 at 1:00 p.m. ET. Click here to leave a question or join the chat.

Read more:

The Raabe Review
BookWorld Review
Publisher website
Burned by Love
The New Yorker
The Wall Street Journal

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Burned by Love? Chat with “The Gargoyle” author, Andrew Davidson

  1. You know how I felt about The Gargoyle, and I can’t recommend The Lace Reader highly enough. It was wonderful, and my review is here

    I’ve heard mixed reviews of the Wroblewski and would look forward to hearing your reaction.

    Posted by readerville | 5 August, 2008, 12:41 pm
  2. I’ll check out your review of The Lace Reader. I am not sure that the book has gotten the attention it deserves, but I’ll pick it up.

    Posted by draabe | 6 August, 2008, 1:09 pm
  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog today. :) I do own Phantom of the Opera, but again, I haven’t read it. I don’t even want to tell you how many books I own that I haven’t read. I just like having them for some reason…I guess it’s about being an English major. I think, “I’ll read that someday,” or “I’d like to have that for my future children to read,” and all that nonsense.

    I do agree with you that a little Austen goes a long way. That’s why I’ve only read Pride and Prejudice and not any of the others I own (which is pretty much her entire collection of novels).

    Posted by LeLe | 7 August, 2008, 9:33 am

Leave a Reply

