//
you're reading...
BOOKS

The Nonfiction Five Challenge

For whatever you like to read, haven’t read, want to read or need to read, there is a “challenge” out there. There is a 1% Well-Read Challenge (read 1% of the books listed in 1,001 Books You Must Read Before You Die), the New York Times Notable Book Challenge, the Classics Challenge, the Anything Agatha Challenge (yes, that Agatha; check it out, it’s just starting) and plenty more if you know where to look. If you don’t, try Joy’s blog or, of course, just google/yahoo/ask.

The NONFICTION FIVE started a couple of months ago and ends on the 30th of September. The “rules” are self-explanatory: five nonfiction books in five months. Incidentally, they are also flexible (seriously, you can read whatever you want, whenever you want). I think the ultimate goal is to make a concentrated effort to expose yourself to as much nonfiction as you can for five months. I typically read a good deal of nonfiction by choice, but have just finished a couple of novels and this is a good time to switch over to the other side for awhile.

There are a number of readers [allegedly] participating in this challenge who write fine reviews and are willing to actually talk about the book – something that often gets missed at book club (sad, but true). I like Rebecca Reid, Francesca Scribacchina, and our official challenge hostess, Joy.

The nonfiction books I plan to finish by the end of September are among these:

  1. Living Homes: Sustainable Architecture and Design, by Suzi Moore McGregor and Nora Burba Trulsson – my review here
  2. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami
  3. Taking on the Trust, by Steve Weinberg
  4. Among the Cannibals, by Paul Raffaele – my review here
  5. Here if you Need Me, by Kate Braestrup

 

Barring force majeure, I will read five of these, and post reviews and/or recommendations. More important, I extend the invitation to you: Take the Nonfiction Five Challenge and, if you are so inclined, let me know how it goes.

Happy reading…

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Nonfiction Five Challenge

  1. I’ve already strayed from my list, but I read so much nonfiction I’m not sure which to count for this challenge. I look forward to reading your reviews.

    Posted by Rebecca Reid | 8 July, 2008, 11:37 pm
  2. Just, if you are interested, you can get an interactive spreadsheet for the original 1001 books list from Arukiyomi’s blog at

    http://johnandsheena.co.uk/books

    happy reading!

    Posted by Arukiyomi | 9 July, 2008, 3:26 pm
  3. I am very tempted! I’m going to get at least one from your list :)

    Posted by jcrn | 11 July, 2008, 5:50 am
  4. Thanks for liking me :)
    I’m now behind with my reviews, but plan on adding some during next week. And I surely am interested in reading yours, especially for book No.1 on your list.
    PS. Arukiyomi’s spreadsheet is a nice idea. I do not participate in the 1% challenge, but I checked it out and it’s great.
    F.

    Posted by Francesca (Scribacchina) | 12 July, 2008, 3:23 pm
  5. Hi Diana! Welcome to the Non-Fiction Five Challenge! I’m so glad you found us and are joining us in this adventure. :) Hope you enjoy all your choices. Happy Reading!

    Posted by Joy | 18 July, 2008, 9:48 am
  6. It’s an interesting challenge. I found one title on your list that I will probably read. I have several nonfiction books already waiting to be read. But what’s one more book?

    Posted by blacklin | 27 July, 2008, 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

